Industry & TETAF News

Six Leaders Elected to TETAF Board of Directors

TETAF welcomes three new individuals and three returning members to the TETAF Board of Directors after an election held by the General Assembly. The General Assembly is comprised of two voting members from each of the 22 Trauma Service Area Regional Advisory Councils (RACs) across Texas.

The following individuals will serve on the TETAF Board with a term expiring in 2022:

Jeff Beeson, DO, RN

Wanda Helgesen, RN, MSN

Lisa Hutchins, RN-NIC

Kenneth Mattox, MD

Kate Schaefer, RN, CEN, NREMT

David Weisoly, DO

Lisa Hutchins, Kate Schaefer, and David Weisoly are new to the TETAF Board. Jeff Beeson, Wanda Helgesen, and Kenneth Mattox are returning to the board for another term.

With 35 years of maternal child health experience in all levels of care, Lisa Hutchins is currently the assistant chief nursing officer at The Woman’s Hospital of Texas. She is a neonatal and maternal care surveyor for TETAF and serves on the perinatal committee for the Southeast Texas RAC (SETRAC).

Kate Schaefer is the trauma program manager and emergency department director at Childress Regional Medical Center. She has also worked as an EMT and flight nurse. In 2016, Kate was named a Texas Nurses Association Great Nurse honoree.

Dr. David Weisoly is the neonatal ICU medical director at Memorial Hermann The Woodlands. Additionally, he is the medical director of a large neonatal and maternal-fetal multispecialty practice and a nationally known educator in neonatal medicine. Dr. Weisoly is the founder and director of the Houston Area QI Collaborative and serves as the perinatal chair for the Southeast Texas RAC (SETRAC).

Returning board member Jeff Beeson is the executive medical director and chief medical officer at the University of North Texas Health Sciences Center. He is a former member of the Governor’s EMS and Trauma Advisory Council (GETAC) and a past chair of the EMS Medical Directors Committee. Dr. Beeson brings emergency care and disaster response experience to the board.

Also returning to the TETAF Board of Directors is Dr. Kenneth Mattox. He is the chief of staff and chief of surgery at Ben Taub Hospital in Houston. Dr. Mattox has performed more than 70,000 operations while at Ben Taub, mostly trauma and emergency surgeries. Dr. Mattox serves as a distinguished service professor at the Baylor College of Medicine, has published more than 700 articles, and assisted in the formation of the Society of Trauma Nurses.

Wanda Helgesen also returns to the board for another term. She is the executive director at the Border Regional Advisory Council (Border RAC) and was integral in the development of Border RAC.

These six individuals will join eleven other board members that include Scott Christopher, Eric Epley, Nida Garcia, Angela Gentry, Kathy Perkins, Dr. Edward Racht, Ricky Reeves, Dr. Craig Rhyne, Danny Updike, Dudley Wait, and Peyton Ware.

Officers of the TETAF Board of Directors are Craig Rhyne, M.D. (chair), Dudley Wait, EMT-P (vice chair), Ricky Reeves, EMT-P (secretary), Kathy Perkins, RN, MBA (treasurer), and Eric Epley, CEM (General Assembly chair).

For more information about the TETAF Board of Directors, please visit