

TETAF Board of Directors Called Meeting Tuesday, August 1, 2023, 11:00 a.m. Zoom

Present: Craig Rhyne, M.D., chair Scott Christopher, BBA, BSN, RN, LP Ernest Gonzalez, M.D., FACS (Zoom) Diana Grimm-Mapp, RN, BSN, CEN, TCRN Wanda Helgesen, RN, MSN Dan Little, M.D. Rhonda Manor-Coombes, BSN, RN, TCRN Kenneth Mattox, M.D., FACS Christine Reeves Kate Schaefer, RN, CEN, NREMT Danny Updike, RN, CCRN, EMT-LP Dudley Wait, EMT-P David Weisoly, D.O. Absent: Kathy Perkins, RN, MBA Edward Racht, M.D. Ricky Reeves, EMT-P

TETAF Staff: Dinah Welsh, Terri Rowden, Jessica Phillips, and Erin Moore TETAF Contractors: Kevin Reed, attorney

- 1) **Call to Order** The meeting was called to order at 11:04 a.m. by Craig Rhyne, M.D., chair.
- 2) Review of Governance Committee Recommendations to Fill Board Vacancy Dudley Wait, vice chair and chair of the TETAF Governance Committee, stated that some on the Governance Committee had concerns about the criteria for selecting nominees. This will be discussed at the August 15 TETAF Board of Directors meeting. Wait reviewed the candidates with the board. Dinah Welsh stated that Cherish Brodbeck and Dr. Kate Drone were nominated in December. Welsh added there was a fifth nominee, but she had concerns with her current workload and ability to commit to serving. According to the TETAF Bylaws, the TETAF Board of Directors had the right to appoint someone during the June meeting but chose for the Governance Committee to vet nominees.
- 3) Board Discussion of Nominees Wanda Helgesen stated she does not know any of the nominees personally, but Dr. Jessica Ehrig was a dynamo during a lecture. Dr. Craig Rhyne stated he knows Cherish Brodbeck and she is a paramedic, not a physician, if the board would like to select a physician to fill the vacancy. Dr. Kenneth Mattox asked if we were looking for someone in a new geographic area. Dinah Welsh responded that all

nominees are in a Regional Advisory Council (RAC) with current board members. A map was shared showing the location of current board members and nominees. Dr. David Weisoly stated he knows Kate Drone and Dr. Zachary Rubeo well and knows of Dr. Jessica Ehrig. Dr. Weisoly added that RAC E is large and needs representation. Christine Reeves stated that she knows Dr. Ehrig and she is a dynamo who has a large viewpoint on what makes a perinatal region. Dr. Dan Little stated he has working knowledge of Dr. Ehrig as a surveyor and she is experienced. Dr. Mattox nominated Dr. Ehrig for the board seat and Dr. Little seconded the motion. Dr. Weisoly nominated Dr. Rubeo and Rhonda Manor-Coombes seconded the motion. Dr. Rhyne recommended narrowing the vote to Drs. Ehrig and Rubeo since there were motions to recommend each of these nominees.

- 4) Board Vote/Appointment A vote was conducted via a poll on Zoom. Dinah Welsh stated there were 10 votes for Dr. Ehrig and four for Dr. Rubeo. Dr. Craig Rhyne stated TETAF should send a letter to Dr. Ehrig regarding her appointment to the board. Welsh stated the letter should be signed by Dr. Rhyne as chair and Dudley Wait as chair of the Governance Committee.
- 5) Open Discussion Dinah Welsh once again reviewed the map showing locations of the current board members. Welsh asked board members to think of two to three nominees as this next election will be significant with a loss of long-time leaders on the TETAF Board.
- 6) **Adjournment** There being no further business before the Board, Dr. Rhyne adjourned the meeting at 11:38 a.m.