TETAF | Texas EMS Trauma & Acute Care Foundation
home,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15462,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-13.8,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7,vc_responsive

Serving the Texas Trauma &
Emergency Healthcare Community


TETAF has an outstanding team of credentialed surveyors trained to provide trauma, stroke and Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) designation surveys throughout Texas.


TETAF offers a variety of educational opportunities throughout the year and is an approved provider of continuing nursing education and EMS continuing education.


TETAF provides testimony, advises lawmakers and actively pursues legislation to provide the best trauma and emergency healthcare for all Texans.

TETAF Was Created to Help Improve the Trauma and Emergency Healthcare System for All Texans.

TETAF was created to support the development of the state trauma and emergency healthcare system and provides designation surveys, advocacy and educational opportunities throughout the state.

TETAF was granted authority by the Texas Department of State Health Services in 2008 to provide verification surveys for Level III and Level IV designated trauma facilities, and in 2009 the first TETAF staff was hired to begin fully implementing TETAF’s mission. TETAF is now approved to perform trauma, NICU and stroke surveys.

TETAF is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Austin.

march, 2018

05maralldayalldaySurgical Disruptive Technology Summit

08marallday09alldayMedical Incident Support Team (MIST) Course

19marallday20alldayAmbulance Staging Management Team (ASMT) Course

Show More Events

TETAF Hot Topics & News

TETAF Board of Directors Elects Officers

The new TETAF Board of Directors met in Austin January January 26 for an organizational meeting. The Board elected officers to serve for the next three years.

Chair: Edward M. Racht, MD
Vice Chair: Dudley Wait, EMT-P
Secretary: Ricky Reeves, EMT-P
Treasurer: Craig Rhyne, MD

Congratulations to our new officers!

SOLD OUT: March TETAF Hospital Data Management Course

TETAF's hospital data management course in North Texas has sold out. To join the waitlist please contact Courtney DeBower.

Texas Perinatal Services Program Now Scheduling NICU Surveys — Dates Available!

TETAF's Texas Perinatal Services Program, an approved Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) surveying entity by the Texas Department of State Health Services, continues to schedule surveys for 2017 and beyond.

We have a large team of surveyors available and will work with your facility to accommodate your preferred dates.

Requests for Survey can be submitted through our services page. More information on TETAF survey services is available here. Additional NICU resources are also available in the TETAF Resources Library.

TX Perinatal_Stacked

News from the Blog

  • Members of the Texas EMS community, as well as leaders from around the country, gathered in Dallas March 1 for the fourth and final regional stakeholder meeting to support EMS Agen...

  • The final Hospital Level of Care Designations for Maternal Care, 25 TAC, Chapter 133, Subchapter K, §§133.201 – 133.210 were published in the February 16, 2018 edition of the...

  • GETAC documents are available now on Guidebook! Get the guide to access meeting schedules, agendas, resource documents and much more. Get our guide here: https://guidebook.com/g/ge...

  • Agendas have been posted for the February 14-16 GETAC meeting and committee meetings in Austin and are available online.  ...

  • The first meeting of the Workgroup on Mental Health Access for First Responders will meet in Austin February 9 at the Health & Human Services Commission. More information and a...

  • In January we welcomed John Aadain to the TETAF team as Office Manager/Survey Coordinator. John recently graduated with his B.S. in Psychology from Texas State University with focu...

Program Highlight

Just Drive - End Distracted Driving

Just Drive Social Media Campaign

TETAF has launched a social media campaign as part of the Just Drive injury prevention initiative. Like us on Facebook at: Just Drive TETAF and follow us on Twitter: @JustDrive_TETAF. Check out the social media guide to learn how you can help spread the work via social media. Read more about the campaign and how to get involved and access campaign materials.


Trauma System Areas with RAC Oversight


Designated Trauma Facilities in Texas


2015 Texas Trauma Fatality Rate


National Trauma Fatality Rate Estimate